Dalling new CEO of Caymanas Track Ltd

first_imgShane Dalling, former councillor of the Westchester division of the Portmore municipality, was last Friday appointed CEO of Caymanas Track Limited at a meeting of the new board, replacing Cedric Stewart, whose contract was terminated. Dalling, who had previously served as a commissioner of the Jamaica Racing Commission up to 2012, was one of the eight members appointed to the new CTL board by finance minister Audley Shaw on April 17. Danville Walker, the former head of the Electoral Office of Jamaica and Jamaica Observer CEO, is chairman of the board, with Dalling as deputy chairman. Stewart, who was appointed CEO on March 1, 2013, still had a year left on his contract. However, the board of directors decided to part company with him, citing the $4 million award to Shane Ellis in his defamation suit against CTL, among other things. ‘EXIT CLAUSE’ Dalling said there was an “exit clause” provision in Stewart’s contract, which means that CTL is not obligated to pay him off for the remaining period of the contract. Friday’s meeting was the second convened by the full board, but Dalling disclosed that they had formed five working committees and had been having meetings with key members of staff and other stakeholders in just over a month. Although appointed for a period of three years by the minister, Dalling conceded that it will more than likely be an interim board that will prepare CTL for the privatisation of Caymanas Park by Supreme Ventures Limited, who some weeks ago was named the preferred bidder re the divestment process. Members of the new CTL board are: Danville Walker (chairman); Shane Dalling (deputy chairman), former Independence City Councillor, Keith Blake; veteran sports journalist, Ed Barnes; attorney-at-law, Andre Marriott-Blake; Councillor for the Bellevue division in the St Catherine Parish Council, Alvin Beckford, Ozane Bell; and Finance Ministry official, Robert Martin, who has been retained from the previous board.last_img read more

Read More →